Photographing jewellery

These gems have life in them: their colors speak, say what words fail of. ~George Eliot

I love close up photography and it’s always fun to do it at home, when the weather is bad and you don’t want to go out.

There are some subjects that are easy to shoot and some that are just nightmare. Today I decided to challenge myself and do the jewellery photography, which is very tricky as you have so many areas you want to focus on and you cannot get around stacking in post production.

I set up my little impromptu studio and got some of my jewellery out….

Photographing jewellery In Words And In Photos image 1

Impromptu studio

I’ve started with the simpler subjects: an aquamarine ring and a set of amethyst jewels. There wasn’t so much detail in them, but still I had to take at least 3-4 images to make it look good.

The further it went, the more difficult it became. I brought out more and more intricate pieces to see if it will work.

The pièce de résistance was a silver bracelet which was made for my mom, that had so many details that I took me 20 photos to get it all in focus.

Photographing jewellery

Have you ever tried anything similar? How did you do it?

2 thoughts on “Photographing jewellery

Leave a Reply

